Dangerous Goods Regulations

The Carriage of Dangerous Goods by Road (Driver Training) Regulations 1996 have been around since 1st September 1996 and require drivers of certain vehicles carrying Dangerous Substances, which fall, within the scope of the Regulations to:

  • Attend and complete an approved training course
  • Pass an approved City & Guilds examination
  • Obtain a vocational driver training certificate
  • Carry a valid current vocational driver-training certificate during the carriage of dangerous goods
  • Attend a refresher course and pass an approved examination within 12 months preceding the expiry of the certificate
  • Produce your driver-training certificate to a Police Officer or Goods Vehicle examiner when required

Your Dangerous Goods Vocational Licence will be valid for five years for National and International journeys throughout Europe. ADR can then be renewed in the final year before expiry by taking a re-certification course to re-qualify for a further five years.

Dangerous Goods Classification

Dangerous substances are grouped into nine classes and consignors have a duty to identify the hazards of the goods they intend to transport. Some classes have divisions and are as follows:

  1. Explosives
  2. Gases
    1. Flammable gas
    2. Non-flammable, non-toxic gas
    3. Toxic gas
  3. Flammable liquid
  4. Flammable solids
    1. Flammable solid
    2. Spontaneously combustible substance
    3. Substance which in contact with water emits flammable gas
  5. Oxidising substances
    1. Oxidising substance
    2. Organic peroxide
  6. Toxic substances.
    1. Toxic substance
    2. Infectious substance
  7. Radioactive material
  8. Corrosive substances
  9. Miscellaneous dangerous goods

Don’t forget to read information regarding accidents involving dangerous substances on our Accidents and Emergencies resource page.